Penn State Mark

Summer 2017 Academic Calendar (University Park)

Key Dates and Deadlines for the Summer 2017 Semester
Description Maymester 1st Six-Week Session 2nd Six-Week Session
1Arrival Day - New Students Sun, May 7 Sun, May 14 Sun, June 25
Registration - Deadline Sun, May 7 Sun, May 14 Tues, June 27
Intent to Graduate - Activation Period Mon - Fri, May 8 - June 16 Mon - Fri, May 8 - June 16 Mon - Fri, May 8 - June 16
Classes Begin Mon, May 8 Mon, May 15 Wed, June 28
2Regular Drop - Deadline Tues, May 9 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Tues, May 16 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Thurs, June 29 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
2Regular Add - Deadline Wed, May 10 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Wed, May 17 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Fri, June 30 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
2Late Drop Begins Wed, May 10 Wed, May 17 Fri, June 30
2Late Registration Begins Thurs, May 11 Thurs, May 18 Sat, July 1
Memorial Day Holiday - No Classes Mon, May 29 Mon, May 29 -------
Independence Holiday - No Classes ------- ------- Tues, July 4
2Late Drop - Deadline Tues, May 30 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Thurs, June 15 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Tues, August 1 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
Declare Minor - Deadline (Graduating Students) ------- ------- Tues, August 1
Withdrawal - Deadline Mon, June 5 at 5:00 p.m. (ET) Fri, June 23 at 5:00 p.m. (ET) Wed, August 9 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
Classes End Mon, June 5 Friday, June 23 Wed, August 9
Study Days Tues, June 6 Sat - Sun, June 24 - 25 Thurs, August 10
Final Exams Wed, June 7 Mon, June 26 Fri, August 11
Commencement Sat, August 12 Sat, August 12 Sat, August 12

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses.