Penn State Mark

Summer 2016 Academic Calendar (University Park)

Key Dates and Deadlines for the Summer 2016 Semester
Description Maymester 1st Six-Week Session 2nd Six-Week Session
1Arrival Day - New Students Sun, May 8 Sun, May 15 Sun, June 26
Registration - Deadline Sun, May 8 Sun, May 15 Tues, June 28
Intent to Graduate - Activation Period Mon - Fri, May 9 - June 17 Mon - Fri, May 9 - June 17 Mon - Fri, May 9 - June 17
Classes Begin Mon, May 9 Mon, May 16 Wed, June 29
Independence Holiday - No Classes ------- ------- Mon, July 4
2Regular Drop - Deadline Wed, May 11 Thurs, May 19 Tues, July 5
2Regular Add - Deadline Thurs, 8:00 a.m. (ET) May 12 Fri, 8:00 a.m. (ET) May 20 Wed, 8:00 a.m. (ET) July 6
2Late Drop Begins Thurs, May 12 Fri, May 20 Wed, July 6
2Late Registration Begins Fri, May 13 Sat, May 21 Thurs, July 7
Memorial Day Holiday - No Classes Mon, May 30 Mon, May 30 -------
2Late Drop - Deadline Tues, May 31 Thurs, June 16 Tues, August 2
Declare Minor - Deadline (Graduating Students) ------- ------- Tues, August 2
Withdrawal - Deadline Mon, June 6 Fri, June 24 Wed, August 10
Classes End Mon, June 6 Fri, June 24 Wed, August 10
Study Days Tues, June 7 Sat - Sun, June 25 - 26 Thurs, August 11
Final Exams Wed, June 8 Mon, June 27 Fri, August 12
Commencement Sat, August 13 Sat, August 13 Sat, August 13

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the eLion "Course Drop Dates" application for further information. Starting with the first day of the class, a tuition penalty may be charged if the course is dropped.