Penn State Mark

Summer 2014 Academic Calendar (University Park)

Key Dates and Deadlines for the Summer 2014 Semester
Description Maymester 1st Six-Week Session 2nd Six-Week Session
1Arrival Day - New Students Sun, May 11 Sun, May 18 Sun, June 29
Registration - Deadline Sun, May 11 Sun, May 18 Tues, July 1
Intent to Graduate - Activation Period Mon-Fri, May 12 - June 20 Mon - Fri, May 12 - June 20 Mon - Fri, May 12 - June 20
Classes Begin Mon, May 12 Mon, May 19 Wed, July 2
Independence Holiday - No Classes ------- ------- Fri, July 4
2Regular Drop - Deadline Wed, May 14 Thurs, May 22 Mon, July 7
2Regular Add - Deadline Thurs, 8:00 a.m. (ET) May 15 Fri, 8:00 a.m. (ET) May 23 Tues, 8:00 a.m. (ET) July 8
2Late Drop Begins Thurs, May 15 Fri, May 23 Tues, July 8
2Late Registration Begins Fri, May 16 Sat, May 24 Wed, July 9
Memorial Day Holiday - No Classes Mon, May 26 Mon, May 26 -------
2Late Drop - Deadline Mon, June 2 Wed, June 18 Tues, August 5
Declare Minor - Deadline (Graduating Students) ------- ------- Tues, August 5
Withdrawal - Deadline Mon, June 9 Fri, June 27 Wed, August 13
Classes End Mon, June 9 Fri, June 27 Wed, August 13
Study Days Tues, June 10 Sat - Sun, June 28 - 29 Thurs, August 14
Final Exams Wed, June 11 Mon, June 30 Fri, August 15
Commencement Sat, August 16 Sat, August 16 Sat, August 16

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the eLion "Course Drop Dates" application for further information. Starting with the first day of the class, a tuition penalty may be charged if the course is dropped.