Penn State Mark

Spring 2011 Academic Calendar

Key Dates and Deadlines for the Spring 2011 Semester
Description Day Date
Intent to Graduate - Activation Period Sunday - Monday January 2 - 24
Leave of Absence - Deadline Friday January 7
1 3Arrival Day - New Students Saturday January 8
Student Registration - Deadline Sunday January 9
Classes Begin Monday January 10
2Drop Period Monday - Wednesday January 10 - 19
2Add Period Monday - Thursday January 10 - 8:00 a.m. (ET) January 20
Martin Luther King Day - No Classes Monday January 17
2Late Drop Begins Thursday January 20
2Late Registration Begins Friday January 21
Final Exam Conflict - Filing Period Monday - Sunday February 14 - March 6
Spring Break - No Classes Sunday - Saturday March 6 - 12
2Late Drop - Deadline Friday April 8
Withdrawal - Deadline Friday April 29
Classes End Friday April 29
3Study Days Saturday - Sunday April 30 - May 1
3Final Exams Monday - Friday May 2 - 6
3Commencement Friday - Sunday May 13 - 15

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the eLion "Course Drop Dates" application for further information. Starting with the first day of the class, a tuition penalty may be charged if the course is dropped.
3These dates may vary among campuses.