Penn State Mark

Spring 2009 Academic Calendar

Key Dates and Deadlines for the Spring 2009 Semester
Description Day Date
Intent to Graduate - Activation Period Friday - Monday January 2 - 26
Leave of Absence - Deadline Friday January 9
1 3Arrival Day - New Students Saturday January 10
Student Registration - Deadline Sunday January 11
Classes Begin Monday January 12
2Drop/Add Period Monday - Wednesday January 12 - 21
Martin Luther King Day - No Classes Monday January 19
2Late Registration and Late Drop Begin Thursday January 22
Final Exam Conflict - Filing Period Monday - Sunday February 16 - March 8
Spring Break - No Classes Monday - Friday March 9 - 13
2Late Drop - Deadline Friday April 10
Withdrawal - Deadline Friday May 1
Classes End Friday May 1
3Study Days Saturday - Sunday May 2 - 3
3Final Exams Monday - Friday May 4 - 8
3Commencement Friday - Sunday May 15 - 17

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the eLion "Course Drop Dates" application for further information. Starting with the first day of the class, a tuition penalty may be charged if the course is dropped.
3These dates may vary among campuses.