Penn State Mark

Fall 2011 Academic Calendar

Key Dates and Deadlines for the Fall 2011 Semester
Description Day Date
Intent to Graduate - Activation Period Monday - Monday August 15 - September 5
Leave of Absence - Deadline Friday August 19
1 3Arrival Day - New Students Friday - Saturday August 19 - 20
1 3Arrival Day - Returning Students Saturday - Sunday August 20 - 21
Student Registration - Deadline Sunday August 21
Classes Begin Monday August 22
2Regular Drop - Deadline Wednesday August 31
2Regular Add - Deadline Thursday 8:00 a.m. (ET) September 1
2 Late Drop Begins Thursday September 1
2Late Registration Begins Friday September 2
Labor Day Holiday - No Classes Monday September 5
Final Exam Conflict - Filing Period Monday - Sunday September 26 - October 16
2Late Drop - Deadline Friday November 11
Thanksgiving Holiday - No Classes Sunday - Saturday November 20 - 26
Withdrawal - Deadline Friday December 9
Classes End Friday December 9
3Study Days Saturday - Sunday December 10 - 11
3Final Exams Monday - Friday December 12 - 16
3Commencement Saturday December 17

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the eLion "Course Drop Dates" application for further information. Starting with the first day of the class, a tuition penalty may be charged if the course is dropped.
3These dates may vary among campuses.