Penn State Mark

Fall 2009 Academic Calendar

Key Dates and Deadlines for the Fall 2009 Semester
Description Day Date
Intent to Graduate - Activation Period Monday - Monday August 17 - September 7
Leave of Absence - Deadline Friday August 21
1 3Arrival Day - New Students Friday - Saturday August 21 - 22
1 3Arrival Day - Returning Students Saturday - Sunday August 22 - 23
Student Registration - Deadline Sunday August 23
Classes Begin Monday August 24
2Drop/Add Period Monday - Wednesday August 24 - September 2
2Late Registration and Late Drop Begin Thursday September 3
Labor Day Holiday - No Classes Monday September 7
Final Exam Conflict - Filing Period Monday - Sunday September 28 - October 18
2Late Drop - Deadline Friday November 13
Thanksgiving Holiday - No Classes Monday - Sunday November 23 - 29
Withdrawal - Deadline Friday December 11
Classes End Friday December 11
3Study Days - No Classes Saturday - Sunday December 12 - 13
3Final Exams Monday - Friday December 14 - 18
3Commencement Saturday December 19

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the eLion "Course Drop Dates" application for further information. Starting with the first day of the class, a tuition penalty may be charged if the course is dropped.
3These dates may vary among campuses.